Good Neighbor Pharmacy of the Year

Mahaska Drug

Winner of the 2021 Good Neighbor Pharmacy of the Year Award

Every year, we put out a nationwide call for nominations of independent community pharmacies that are part of the Good Neighbor Pharmacy family and display excellence in patient care, community outreach and innovative pharmacy practice. The nominations are carefully reviewed and three top-performing stores are selected as finalists to be showcased for their outstanding work. Patients and peers alike are then invited to vote for who they think should be named the Good Neighbor Pharmacy of the Year, with the winner being announced at our annual tradeshow, ThoughtSpot.

Mahaska Drug in Oskaloosa, Iowa, isn’t just a pharmacy; it’s a destination. Patients travel from near and far to get their medications and visit the pharmacy’s expansive gift shop filled with unique and local items. Mahaska’s services extend far beyond their pharmacy; they are active members of their community and frequently host or participate in local events. Owner and pharmacist Jane Nicholson takes a patient-first approach to everything she does. When Jane first purchased the pharmacy in 1993, it was about to close. Her decision to buy the pharmacy was motivated by her concern for the staff, who would be out of work, and the patients who relied on the pharmacy for their healthcare needs. Since then, Jane has continued to grow the business and enhance the pharmacy by adding a craft store, home healthcare, a drive-thru, a photo department, and so much more.

Jane and her team consistently go beyond getting patients better. During the pandemic, they remained committed to serving the surrounding community, making sure there wasn’t any lapse in care, especially for their homebound patients. When the COVID-19 vaccine became available, Mahaska Drug partnered with the public health department to make the shot more easily accessible by traveling to patient’s homes to administer the vaccine.

Meet our other 2021 Good Neighbor Pharmacy of the Year finalists who were nominated by their community for delivering high-quality care that's second to none.